CUH Logo

Mobile menu open

Top honours for pioneering Cambridge doctors

Congratulations to Fiona Gilbert and Miles Parkes who are among 8 Cambridge doctors and professors to be elected to the Academy of Medical Sciences.

Altogether 60 outstanding biomedical and health scientists from across the UK have been elected as fellows to the Academy this year.

All have been recognised for their remarkable contributions and their ability to generate new knowledge and improve the health of people everywhere.

Fiona Gilbert
Prof Fiona Gilbert

I’d like to thank the Academy of Medical Sciences for this honour and for also recognising the contribution of my Cambridge colleagues, who have also been appointed as new fellows.

Professor Fiona Gilbert

Professor Fiona Gilbert is a consultant at Cambridge University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust (CUH) and Head of the Department of Radiology at the University of Cambridge.

Much of her work has focused on breast cancer and using imaging to gain a better undrestanding of tumour physiology. She is currently leading a UK trial testing risk adapted breast screening and is working in artificial intelligence to improve early cancer detection.

She said: “Our work here on the Cambridge biomedical campus brings together clinical teams, research and patients, enabling pioneering working in so many fields of medicine and life science.”

Prof Miles Parkes
Prof Miles Parkes is a consultant gastroenterologist at CUH

Also elected as a fellow to the Academy of Medical Science is Professor Miles Parkes, director of the Cambridge Biomedical Research Centre.

While treating patients at CUH as a consultant gastroenterologist, his ground-breaking work on IBS (Irritable Bowel Syndrome) has brought greater understanding to this common but often overlooked condition.

The list of new Academy of Medical Science fellows working at CUH or University of Cambridge include:

Professor Sarah-Jayne Blakemore, Professor of Psychology and Cognitive Neuroscience

Professor Rodrigo Floto, Professor of Respiratory Biology

Professor Fiona Gilbert, Head of the Department of Radiology

Dr John Marioni, Senior Group Leader, University of Cambridge and Cancer Research UK

Professor Susan Ozanne, Professor of Developmental Endocrinology

Professor Miles Parkes, Consultant Gastroenterologist and Director of the Cambridge Biomedical Research Centre

Professor Anna Philpott, Head of the School of Biological Sciences

Professor David Savage, Professor of Molecular Metabolism

Each of the new fellows has made important contributions to the health of our society, with a breadth of expertise ranging from the physical and mental health of young people to parasitic diseases and computational biology.

Professor Dame Anne Johnson, President of the Academy of Medical Sciences

Professor Dame Anne Johnson, President of the Academy of Medical Sciences, said:

“It gives me great pleasure to welcome these 60 experts to the Fellowship to help to address the major health challenges facing society.

“The diversity of biomedical and health expertise within our Fellowship is a formidable asset that in the past year has informed our work on critical issues such as tackling the Covid pandemic, understanding the health impacts of climate change, addressing health inequalities, and making the case for funding science."

The Academy of Medical Sciences is the independent body in the UK representing the diversity of medical science.

Elected Fellows are the UK’s leading medical scientists from hospitals, academia, industry and the public service.

The election brings the total number of fellows to 1414.

A full list of new fellows can be found here. (opens in a new tab)