CUH Logo

Mobile menu open

Trust trio honoured with CBEs

Three professors at Cambridge University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust have been awarded a CBEs in the King’s birthday honours list.

Professor David Menon
Professor David Menon

Professor David Menon, who founded the Neurosciences Critical Care Unit (NCCU) at Addenbrooke’s and is noted for his national and global clinical and research leadership in traumatic brain injury, is honoured for his services to neurocritical care.

Professor Menon was the first director of director NCCU, where he pioneered the first recognised training programme for specialist neurocritical care in the UK. Protocols developed improved clinical outcome in severe head injury and the management of acute intracranial haemorrhage.

Professor Menon has been an intensive care consultant on the NCCU since 1993, and remains active as a full member of the neurocritical care clinical team.

He is also a director of research, principal investigator in the Wolfson Brain Imaging Centre, and principal investigator in the van Geest Centre for Brain Repair, at the University of Cambridge.

Following two terms as a senior Investigator in the National Institute for Health and Care Research (NIHR), he was appointed emeritus NIHR Senior Investigator in 2019. He is a founding fellow of the Academy of Medical Sciences, and a professorial fellow in the medical sciences at Queens’ College, Cambridge.

He jointly leads the EU-funded €30m CENTER-TBI Consortium (opens in a new tab), the International Initiative on TBI Research (opens in a new tab), and the multi-funder UK national Traumatic Brain Injury (TBI) Research Platform (opens in a new tab).

He jointly led the Lancet Neurology Commissions on TBI (opens in a new tab) in 2017 and 2022 and was executive editor of the UK All Party Parliamentary Group Report on Acquired Brain Injury 2019.

Professor Menon has been applicant or co-applicant on awarded grants totalling over £50m. He has over 650 peer-reviewed publications, with an ‘h’ index of over 130 (Google Scholar), and since 2021 has been continuously rated as a Highly Cited Researcher by Clarivate, a global leader in providing trusted insights and analytics.

The Acute Brain Injury Program at Cambridge, which he founded, has supported over 50 PhD studentships, and nurtured several senior investigators across clinical and basic neuroscience.

Professor Menon said:

I am deeply honoured to be nominated for a CBE and accept it on behalf of all those who have worked with me during what has been – and continues to be – a very rewarding career.

Professor David Menon CBE
Professor Patrick Maxwell 600 x 857
Professor Patrick Maxwell CBE

One of CUH’s non-executive directors, Professor Patrick Maxwell also received a CBE for services to Medical Research.

Professor Maxwell, is Regius Professor of Physic and Head of the School of Clinical Medicine at the University of Cambridge. As a clinician scientist he has been centrally involved in a series of discoveries that have revealed how changes in oxygenation are sensed, and how genetic alterations cause kidney disease.

Professor John_Clarkson 600 x 600
CUH governor Professor John Clarkson

Professor Clarkson, who is known for his research in health and care improvement, inclusive design and systems design, is a Director of Cambridge Engineering Design Centre and Co-Director of Cambridge Public Health. Professor Clarkson said, “I am delighted to receive this honour and thank all those extraordinary people I have had the pleasure to work with over the years who have supported me in so many interesting and transformative projects.”

The Trust wishes to congratulate all clinicians and staff who have received an honour in this year’s list.